Top Mortician Schools

Anyone looking to pursue a career as a mortician/funeral director must first obtain a degree in mortuary science. Degree programs in mortuary sciences offer students the opportunity to gain both theoretical knowledge as well as practical training.

At present, there are 60 accredited mortuary science program in the United States. Mortuary science programs are accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. The majority of mortuary science degrees are 2 year associate’s programs, but those looking to pursue a more in-depth study of the mortuary sciences can also complete bachelor’s degrees at a number of institutions.

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

Here’s a quick look at 3 of the most popular mortuary science schools in the country.

1. The Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science

ccms

Talk at the Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science (Photo credit: www.ccms.edu)

The Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science is accredited by the ABFSE, and also recognized by the Ohio Board of Regents as an Institution of Higher Learning. Founded in 1882, the Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science is not only one of the top mortician schools in the country, but also the oldest. Students have the opportunity to earn an Associate of Applied Science Degree in 12 months, or a Bachelor’s of Mortuary Science Degree in 15 months, with college transfer credits.

The program focuses on providing a well-rounded education that covers all aspects of funeral services, as well as hands-on experience with embalming. Coursework ranges from basic classes in Accounting, Business Law, and Pricing, to classes that examine the social and psychological aspects of death and morning, to anatomy and practical training in embalming skills. The full curriculum can be viewed here.

The application deadline for applying for the mortuary sciences program is Feb 28 for the upcoming school year, and the application fee is $50. Students must forward any official academic transcripts, an application form, a completed health certificate form, and evidence of state board registration (if applicable).

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

2. Worsham College of Mortuary Science

The Worsham College Building

The Worsham College Building (Photo credit: www.worshamcollege.com)

Founded in 1911, Worsham College of Mortuary Science is a private college that offers an Associate’s degree in Mortuary Science, which can be completed in 12 months. The program is accredited by the ABFSE.

Classes are generally held from Mondays to Thursday, from 8:00AM to 2:10PM, though this schedule may be variable in the latter half of the program due to laboratory classes. Courses range from basic accounting and business law classes, to speech communications classes, to funeral service counselling, to courses on embalming. A full listing of the course curriculum is available here.

Applications to Worsham College can be made year round, though the college only accepts students into their program in September and March of each year. The application fee is $30.00, and prospective students must submit the following in order to apply:

  • Completed application form
  • Official college transcripts
  • Completed health certificate
  • 2 letters of recommendation
  • Short essay explaining why they want to enter the funeral services as a profession.

More details on applying and admission is available here.

Students must meet the pre-requisite requirements of their state board (it varies state to state). For students looking to practice in the State of Illinois, they must complete a minimum of 30 credit hours of college, which must include 20 hours of arts and/or science courses, prior to enrolling.

3. Dallas Institute of Funeral Service

dallas institute

Class in session (Photo credit: www.dallasinstitute.edu)

The Dallas Institute of Funeral Service is accredited by the ABFSE and approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The program offers The Associate of Applied Science Degree in Funeral Service, The Funeral Director’s Diploma Program. The credits at Dallas Institute of Funeral Service are also transferable to Ottawa University for individuals looking to complete a Bachelor’s degree.

The program includes both a theory portion as well as a practical, hands-on program as part of its well-rounded curriculum.

The Dallas Institute of Funeral Service also offers a number of its courses online. A full listing of the courses available for completion via distance education is available here.

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

You can find out more about how to become a mortician here.

Listing of Mortuary Schools By Program Size

RnkSchool#PhoneProgram DirectorTotal Cost
1Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science111513-761-2020Teresa Dutko (tdutko@ccms.edu)$22,500
2Worsham College of Mortuary Science111847-808-8444Karl F. Kann (skann@worshamcollege.com)$20,700
3Dallas Institute of Funeral Service107800-235-5444James Shoemake (difs@dallasinstitute.edu)$12,000
4American Academy McAllister Institute of Funeral Service100212-757-1190Meg Dunn (info@funeraleducation.org)$12,740
5Fayetteville Technical Community College – Funeral Service Education Department82910-678-8301M David Hall (halld@faytechcc.edu)$3,968
6Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service76281-873-0262Jason Altieri (j.altieri@commonwealth.edu)$10,904
7Mid-America College of Funeral Service63812-288-8878John R. Braboy (johnbraboy@aol.com)$9,050
8Jefferson State Community College – Funeral Service Education Program41205-856-7844Venus N.R. Smith (vriley@jeffstateonline.com)$5,974
9Cypress College – Mortuary Science Department36714-484-7278Glenn A. Bower (mortsci@cypresscollege.edu)$2,552
10John Tyler Community College – Funeral Service Program36804-706-5118Rhonda Keyes Pleasants (rpleasants@jtcc.edu)$4,752
11John A Gupton College34615-327-3927Donna Collard (collard@guptoncollege.edu)$25,233
12Des Moines Area Community College – Mortuary Science Program32515-965-7171Kevin Patterson (kepatterson@dmacc.edu)$15,620
13Mercer County Community College32609-570-3472Robert C. Smith III (smithr@mccc.edu)$4,450
14Milwaukee Area Technical College – Funeral Service Program32414-456-5320John Pludeman (pludemaj@matc.edu)$5,218
15Arapahoe Community College – Mortuary Science Program31303-797-5954Martha Thayer (martha.thayer@arapahoe.edu)$4,474
16Mesa Community College – Mortuary Science Program29480-988-8501Dr. Thomas R. Taggart (tom.taggart@mcmail.maricopa.edu)$3,054
17Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc28412-362-8500Eugene C. Ogrodnik (pims5808@aol.com)
18Northampton Community College – Funeral Service Education26610-861-5388Patricia Werner (pwerner@northampton.edu)$15,999
19Mt Hood Community College – Funeral Service Education26503-491-7363Doug Ferrin (doug.ferrin@mhcc.edu)$5,779
20University of Minnesota – Program of Mortuary Science26612-624-6464Michael LuBrant (mortsci@umn.edu)$24,050
21Kansas City Kansas Community College – School of Mortuary Science25913-288-7607Wiley Wright (wwright@kckcc.edu)$3,268
22Amarillo College – Mortuary Science Program – West Campus25Scott Rankin (jsrankin@actx.edu)$3,188
23American River College22916-484-8158Alicia Ashabran (ashabra@arc.losrios.edu)$2,628
24Nassau Community College22916-484-8158Alicia Ashabran (ashabra@arc.losrios.edu)$5,423
25Miami Dade College – W.L. Philbrick School of Funeral Service Education 20305-237-1244Loretta Adoghe (ladoghe@mdc.edu)$5,414
26Lincoln College of New England-Southington – Mortuary Science Program18860-628-4751Paul Warren (warrenp@briarwood.edu)$29,483
27St. Petersburg College – Funeral Services Program18727-341-3781davis.kevin@spcollege.edu$4,588
28FINE Mortuary College LLC17781-762-1211Louis Misantone (FINE@fine-ne.com)$18,900
29Simmons Institute of Funeral Service Inc17315-475-5142Maurice C. Wightman (mcwightman20@aol.com)$11,600
30University of Central Oklahoma – Department of Funeral Service Education16405-974-5001John Fritch (funeralservice@uco.edu)$16,119
31Ivy Tech Community College-Central Indiana – Mortuary Science Program 15317-921-4325Brian Miller (bdmiller@ivytech.edu)$4,424
32St. Louis Community College at Forest Park – Department of Funeral Service Education15314-644-9327Steven Koosmann (skoosmann@stlcc.edu)$3,640
33Vincennes University – Funeral Service Education Program15812-888-5469Jonathan E. DeHart (jdehart@vinu.edu)$16,619
34Community College of Baltimore County – Mortuary Science Program – Catonsville Campus14410-840-4924Brian Burke (bburke@ccbcmd.edu)$4,692
35Tidewater Community College – Funeral Service Program14757-822-7074J. F. Walton (jfwalton@tcc.edu)$5,000
36East Mississippi Community College – Funeral Service Technology14662-476-5100Don Webb (dwebb@eastms.edu)$7,270
37Piedmont Technical College – Funeral Service Education13864-941-8774David B. Martin (martin.d@ptc.edu)$4,723
38Southern Illinois University Carbondale – Mortuary Science & Funeral Service Program13618-453-7212Anthony Fleege (afleege@siu.edu)$23,467
39Mount Ida College – New England Institute12617-928-4714Jeffrey Megna (jmegna@mountida.edu)$42,169
40Florida State College at Jacksonville – Funeral Service Program12904-766-6622Robert J. Dean (rdean@fscj.edu)$4,628
41Hudson Valley Community College – Mortuary Science Department10518-629-7113D. Elaine Reinhard (d.reinhard@hvcc.edu)$5,676
42Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College – Funeral Service Technology Department9601-528-8919Bill D. Harvey (bill.harvey@mgccc.edu)$9,612
43Holmes Community College – Funeral Service Technology Program – Ridgeland Campus9601-605-3323Tony Moore (tmoore@holmescc.edu)$9,938
44University of Arkansas Community College at Hope – Funeral Service Program14870-722-8206Karen Davis (kdavis@uacch.edu)$4,280
45Northwest Mississippi Community College – Funeral Service Technology Program – DeSoto Center8662-280-6137Larry Anderson (landerson@northwestms.edu)$9,910
46Ivy Tech Community College-Northwest – Mortuary Science Program7219-392-3600Nhemya C. Ward (nward4@ivytech.edu)$4,424
47Delgado Community College – Department of Funeral Service6504-671-6244David Coughran (dcough@dcc.edu)$4,530
48San Antonio College5210-486-1137Felix Gonzales (fgonzales@alamo.edu)$3,852
49Bishop State Community College – Funeral Service Education Program1251-405-4439Dr. William Thompson (wthompson@bishop.edu)$5,580

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Posted in Top Culinary Arts & Personal Services Schools
One comment on “Top Mortician Schools
  1. Kimberley Clusky says:

    I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Join us on Facebook

Best Careers of the Year