Top Mortician Schools

Anyone looking to pursue a career as a mortician/funeral director must first obtain a degree in mortuary science. Degree programs in mortuary sciences offer students the opportunity to gain both theoretical knowledge as well as practical training.

At present, there are 60 accredited mortuary science program in the United States. Mortuary science programs are accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. The majority of mortuary science degrees are 2 year associate’s programs, but those looking to pursue a more in-depth study of the mortuary sciences can also complete bachelor’s degrees at a number of institutions.

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

Here’s a quick look at 3 of the most popular mortuary science schools in the country.

1. The Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science

ccms

Talk at the Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science (Photo credit: www.ccms.edu)

The Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science is accredited by the ABFSE, and also recognized by the Ohio Board of Regents as an Institution of Higher Learning. Founded in 1882, the Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science is not only one of the top mortician schools in the country, but also the oldest. Students have the opportunity to earn an Associate of Applied Science Degree in 12 months, or a Bachelor’s of Mortuary Science Degree in 15 months, with college transfer credits.

The program focuses on providing a well-rounded education that covers all aspects of funeral services, as well as hands-on experience with embalming. Coursework ranges from basic classes in Accounting, Business Law, and Pricing, to classes that examine the social and psychological aspects of death and morning, to anatomy and practical training in embalming skills. The full curriculum can be viewed here.

The application deadline for applying for the mortuary sciences program is Feb 28 for the upcoming school year, and the application fee is $50. Students must forward any official academic transcripts, an application form, a completed health certificate form, and evidence of state board registration (if applicable).

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

2. Worsham College of Mortuary Science

The Worsham College Building

The Worsham College Building (Photo credit: www.worshamcollege.com)

Founded in 1911, Worsham College of Mortuary Science is a private college that offers an Associate’s degree in Mortuary Science, which can be completed in 12 months. The program is accredited by the ABFSE.

Classes are generally held from Mondays to Thursday, from 8:00AM to 2:10PM, though this schedule may be variable in the latter half of the program due to laboratory classes. Courses range from basic accounting and business law classes, to speech communications classes, to funeral service counselling, to courses on embalming. A full listing of the course curriculum is available here.

Applications to Worsham College can be made year round, though the college only accepts students into their program in September and March of each year. The application fee is $30.00, and prospective students must submit the following in order to apply:

  • Completed application form
  • Official college transcripts
  • Completed health certificate
  • 2 letters of recommendation
  • Short essay explaining why they want to enter the funeral services as a profession.

More details on applying and admission is available here.

Students must meet the pre-requisite requirements of their state board (it varies state to state). For students looking to practice in the State of Illinois, they must complete a minimum of 30 credit hours of college, which must include 20 hours of arts and/or science courses, prior to enrolling.

3. Dallas Institute of Funeral Service

dallas institute

Class in session (Photo credit: www.dallasinstitute.edu)

The Dallas Institute of Funeral Service is accredited by the ABFSE and approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The program offers The Associate of Applied Science Degree in Funeral Service, The Funeral Director’s Diploma Program. The credits at Dallas Institute of Funeral Service are also transferable to Ottawa University for individuals looking to complete a Bachelor’s degree.

The program includes both a theory portion as well as a practical, hands-on program as part of its well-rounded curriculum. A full listing of courses can be found here.

The Dallas Institute of Funeral Service also offers a number of its courses online. A full listing of the courses available for completion via distance education is available here.

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

You can find out more about how to become a mortician here.

Listing of Mortuary Schools By Program Size

Rnk School # Phone Program Director Total Cost
1 Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science 111 513-761-2020 Teresa Dutko (tdutko@ccms.edu) $22,500
2 Worsham College of Mortuary Science 111 847-808-8444 Karl F. Kann (skann@worshamcollege.com) $20,700
3 Dallas Institute of Funeral Service 107 800-235-5444 James Shoemake (difs@dallasinstitute.edu) $12,000
4 American Academy McAllister Institute of Funeral Service 100 212-757-1190 Meg Dunn (info@funeraleducation.org) $12,740
5 Fayetteville Technical Community College – Funeral Service Education Department 82 910-678-8301 M David Hall (halld@faytechcc.edu) $3,968
6 Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service 76 281-873-0262 Jason Altieri (j.altieri@commonwealth.edu) $10,904
7 Mid-America College of Funeral Service 63 812-288-8878 John R. Braboy (johnbraboy@aol.com) $9,050
8 Jefferson State Community College – Funeral Service Education Program 41 205-856-7844 Venus N.R. Smith (vriley@jeffstateonline.com) $5,974
9 Cypress College – Mortuary Science Department 36 714-484-7278 Glenn A. Bower (mortsci@cypresscollege.edu) $2,552
10 John Tyler Community College – Funeral Service Program 36 804-706-5118 Rhonda Keyes Pleasants (rpleasants@jtcc.edu) $4,752
11 John A Gupton College 34 615-327-3927 Donna Collard (collard@guptoncollege.edu) $25,233
12 Des Moines Area Community College – Mortuary Science Program 32 515-965-7171 Kevin Patterson (kepatterson@dmacc.edu) $15,620
13 Mercer County Community College 32 609-570-3472 Robert C. Smith III (smithr@mccc.edu) $4,450
14 Milwaukee Area Technical College – Funeral Service Program 32 414-456-5320 John Pludeman (pludemaj@matc.edu) $5,218
15 Arapahoe Community College – Mortuary Science Program 31 303-797-5954 Martha Thayer (martha.thayer@arapahoe.edu) $4,474
16 Mesa Community College – Mortuary Science Program 29 480-988-8501 Dr. Thomas R. Taggart (tom.taggart@mcmail.maricopa.edu) $3,054
17 Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc 28 412-362-8500 Eugene C. Ogrodnik (pims5808@aol.com) -
18 Northampton Community College – Funeral Service Education 26 610-861-5388 Patricia Werner (pwerner@northampton.edu) $15,999
19 Mt Hood Community College – Funeral Service Education 26 503-491-7363 Doug Ferrin (doug.ferrin@mhcc.edu) $5,779
20 University of Minnesota – Program of Mortuary Science 26 612-624-6464 Michael LuBrant (mortsci@umn.edu) $24,050
21 Kansas City Kansas Community College – School of Mortuary Science 25 913-288-7607 Wiley Wright (wwright@kckcc.edu) $3,268
22 Amarillo College – Mortuary Science Program – West Campus 25 - Scott Rankin (jsrankin@actx.edu) $3,188
23 American River College 22 916-484-8158 Alicia Ashabran (ashabra@arc.losrios.edu) $2,628
24 Nassau Community College 22 916-484-8158 Alicia Ashabran (ashabra@arc.losrios.edu) $5,423
25 Miami Dade College – W.L. Philbrick School of Funeral Service Education 20 305-237-1244 Loretta Adoghe (ladoghe@mdc.edu) $5,414
26 Lincoln College of New England-Southington – Mortuary Science Program 18 860-628-4751 Paul Warren (warrenp@briarwood.edu) $29,483
27 St. Petersburg College – Funeral Services Program 18 727-341-3781 davis.kevin@spcollege.edu $4,588
28 FINE Mortuary College LLC 17 781-762-1211 Louis Misantone (FINE@fine-ne.com) $18,900
29 Simmons Institute of Funeral Service Inc 17 315-475-5142 Maurice C. Wightman (mcwightman20@aol.com) $11,600
30 University of Central Oklahoma – Department of Funeral Service Education 16 405-974-5001 John Fritch (funeralservice@uco.edu) $16,119
31 Ivy Tech Community College-Central Indiana – Mortuary Science Program 15 317-921-4325 Brian Miller (bdmiller@ivytech.edu) $4,424
32 St. Louis Community College at Forest Park – Department of Funeral Service Education 15 314-644-9327 Steven Koosmann (skoosmann@stlcc.edu) $3,640
33 Vincennes University – Funeral Service Education Program 15 812-888-5469 Jonathan E. DeHart (jdehart@vinu.edu) $16,619
34 Community College of Baltimore County – Mortuary Science Program – Catonsville Campus 14 410-840-4924 Brian Burke (bburke@ccbcmd.edu) $4,692
35 Tidewater Community College – Funeral Service Program 14 757-822-7074 J. F. Walton (jfwalton@tcc.edu) $5,000
36 East Mississippi Community College – Funeral Service Technology 14 662-476-5100 Don Webb (dwebb@eastms.edu) $7,270
37 Piedmont Technical College – Funeral Service Education 13 864-941-8774 David B. Martin (martin.d@ptc.edu) $4,723
38 Southern Illinois University Carbondale – Mortuary Science & Funeral Service Program 13 618-453-7212 Anthony Fleege (afleege@siu.edu) $23,467
39 Mount Ida College – New England Institute 12 617-928-4714 Jeffrey Megna (jmegna@mountida.edu) $42,169
40 Florida State College at Jacksonville – Funeral Service Program 12 904-766-6622 Robert J. Dean (rdean@fscj.edu) $4,628
41 Hudson Valley Community College – Mortuary Science Department 10 518-629-7113 D. Elaine Reinhard (d.reinhard@hvcc.edu) $5,676
42 Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College – Funeral Service Technology Department 9 601-528-8919 Bill D. Harvey (bill.harvey@mgccc.edu) $9,612
43 Holmes Community College – Funeral Service Technology Program – Ridgeland Campus 9 601-605-3323 Tony Moore (tmoore@holmescc.edu) $9,938
44 University of Arkansas Community College at Hope – Funeral Service Program 14 870-722-8206 Karen Davis (kdavis@uacch.edu) $4,280
45 Northwest Mississippi Community College – Funeral Service Technology Program – DeSoto Center 8 662-280-6137 Larry Anderson (landerson@northwestms.edu) $9,910
46 Ivy Tech Community College-Northwest – Mortuary Science Program 7 219-392-3600 Nhemya C. Ward (nward4@ivytech.edu) $4,424
47 Delgado Community College – Department of Funeral Service 6 504-671-6244 David Coughran (dcough@dcc.edu) $4,530
48 San Antonio College 5 210-486-1137 Felix Gonzales (fgonzales@alamo.edu) $3,852
49 Bishop State Community College – Funeral Service Education Program 1 251-405-4439 Dr. William Thompson (wthompson@bishop.edu) $5,580

Click here to view top mortuary science and funeral studies schools available in your area and online.

Join us on Facebook